//
you're reading...
Bristol, Photos, Technology, Video

More Cinemagraphical goodness

As you may well have seen yesterday, I had my first go at creating a Cinemagraph, which is basically a well stylised animated gif that adds a whole new element to photography. If you missed it, here’s the one I did.

Tilly Cinemagraph

Well today, I went out with my HD video camera with the aim to make a few more, some starring people – a.k.a myself – and some with just surroundings. So this morning I head out and took the videos and I’ve just finished editing my first ‘series’ of videos. Being as I’m only just getting into it, I’m sure they’ll get better, and I’m really looking forward to doing some with some proper models, but considering they’re my first set, I’m really happy with the results. Have a look and let me know what you think.

UPDATE: I’ve created a step-by-step video on how to make your own cinemagraph – How to Make a Cinemagraph

Leg Swing Cinemagraph

Escalator Cinemagraph

Train Cinemagraph

Kittens Cinemagraph

About Andy Valentine

When I was young I dreamt of being a musician, but that didn't quite work out. Then I wanted to be an architect, then an artist, then a software designer, and most recently, a musician again. Somehow, as I approach the dreaded 3-0, I've managed to forge a life where I get paid to sing amplified nonsense at people and teaching others to do the same. It's awesome. This blog is a glimpse into my somewhat broken mind. Be afraid.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “More Cinemagraphical goodness

  1. Nicely done!

    Posted by Diego | July 7, 2011, 2:04 pm
  2. Love them! Especially the 1st one – too good.

    Posted by Humza Mehbub | July 7, 2011, 4:13 pm
  3. These are terrific! I can see a real potential market in them…good stuff,

    Posted by Dad | July 7, 2011, 8:45 pm
  4. How do you do this. I would love to try.

    Very cool

    Posted by Mike | July 9, 2011, 3:02 pm
  5. Can you explain how to do it ?

    Posted by Avdhoot | July 27, 2011, 7:50 am
  6. haha I really love these gifs

    Posted by fails | August 2, 2011, 3:05 pm
  7. These look wonderful. Here is my first try out. Will be glad to know what you think: http://bit.ly/rhHt4V

    Posted by Manoj | August 6, 2011, 2:55 pm
    • The ear-ring one is really good. I would say that the finger wave has a couple of issues.

      You probably notice that an area of the background, as well as the finger itself ‘jumps’ at the end of the animation. This is why your masks are important as the background trees that flicker should be hidden under the mask so not to move at all. Then, instead of having the finger move right and then left before looping, simply use the frames for it moving from one side to the other, and then copy and reverse those frames for the movement in the opposite direction. Doing that will ensure that you animation is much smoother and avoids those niggily jumps

      Posted by Andy Valentine | August 6, 2011, 5:18 pm
  8. I love the escalator one and the cat-fight one!

    Posted by Kezzie-Beth | September 26, 2011, 8:27 am
  9. AMAZING PICTURES! :D I would like to learn how to do my own

    Posted by linn johansson | November 19, 2011, 10:50 pm
  10. Kittens! Cuteness explosion! You are amazing…

    Posted by Mollie Morrissette | November 24, 2011, 4:49 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: What’s That Coming Over The Hill? « Mistress of Monsters - July 9, 2011

  2. Pingback: Fun with Cinemagraphs « Andy Valentine Says… - July 22, 2011

  3. Pingback: Perpetual Motion « Mistress of Monsters - October 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog.

Join 369 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

